Augsburg Fortress

Partita on "Rise, O Church, like Christ Arisen"

Partita on "Rise, O Church, like Christ Arisen"

Like telling a story, David Cherwien has crafted a five-movement partita that highlights the text of each stanza of this well-loved hymn by Susan Palo Cherwien with the original tune SURGE ECCLESIA by Timothy J. Strand. The second movement tells of wafting incense, and the aria of the fourth movement cleverly includes the hymn melody in retrograde, highlighting the text “Rise, remember well the future.” The final movement is a joyful and festive toccata. The five movements can be played in sequence or as standalone pieces during worship. 

Sheet Music
Product Number: 9798889832720
  • In stock
Digital Download
Product Number: ITEM013136
  • This item is not returnable
  • Publisher Augsburg Fortress
  • Format Sheet Music
  • Dimensions 9 x 12
  • Pages 24
  • Season/Occasion General
  • Difficulty Medium
  • Voicing Organ
  • Publication Date May 22, 2024

This group contains 20 items. View entire group