Augsburg Fortress

Hymn Interpretations for Organ

Hymn Interpretations for Organ

Originally published in 1999, this collection of works by American composer and master teacher David Dahl offers fourteen chorale preludes on classic hymn melodies for use throughout the church year. These 'interpretations' present a vivid demonstration of the composer's imagination and individual style in the creation of chorale based music.

Intended for use in liturgy, each of the preludes can be used as a hymn introduction, a brief voluntary, or even in alternatim at a hymn festival. Students of hymn improvisation will find this music to be an excellent primer which clearly demonstrates compositional techniques used in the treatment of chorale melodies at the keyboard.

Settings in this volume are based on the following hymn tunes: Bridegroom, Foundation, Grosser Gott, Lasst uns erfreuen, Laudate Dominum, Lobe den Herren, Nun danket alle Gott, Nun Komm der Heiden Heiland, Old 124th, Puer Nobis, Rendez a Dieu, Restoration, Sonne der Gerechtigkeit, and Vineyard Haven. An optional trumpet part for the setting of Puer Nobis is included in the score. 

  • This item is not returnable
  • Digital download


  • Publisher Augsburg Fortress
  • Format Digital Download
  • Dimensions 11 x 8.5
  • Pages 32
  • Season/Occasion Advent; All Saints; Communion; Easter; General; Lent & Holy Week; Pentecost; Season after Pentecost; Thanksgiving
  • Difficulty Easy-Medium
  • Voicing Organ
  • Item Number ITEM012746
  • Publication Date July 30, 1999