Augsburg Fortress

Five Variations on Vom Himmel hoch

Five Variations on Vom Himmel hoch

Excerpted from Augsburg Organ Library: Christmas, this set of five variations is based on the classic chorale melody attributed to Martin Luther. Walter L. Pelz originally composed this music for organ in 1987. This set includes five of his variations: an elegant figured chorale in 3 voices, a stately canon at the octave, a quodlibet which adds DIVINUM MYSTERIUM to the texture, a joyful dance in triple meter, a sumptuous pastorale quoting STILLE NACHT, and a spectacular Finale in organo pleno with an augmented cantus firmus in the pedal. This music, from an acknowledged master composer of chorale-based music for organ, is an eloquent expression of faith, art, and the joy of the Christmas season.

  • This item is not returnable
  • Digital download


  • Publisher Augsburg Fortress
  • Format Digital Download
  • Season/Occasion Christmas
  • Difficulty Medium-Difficult
  • Voicing Organ
  • Item Number 9781506434711
  • Publication Date July 1, 2001