Augsburg Fortress

Adagios of Hope and Peace: Ten Settings for Organ

Adagios of Hope and Peace: Ten Settings for Organ

The “adagio” has emerged over the centuries as a musical genre characterized by slow tempo, serene lyricism, and soaring melody. Adagios of Hope and Peace includes eight hymn-based compositions plus two free-style works which evoke feelings of tranquility and quiet assurance. These pieces are particularly designed for funeral and memorial services, but may be equally useful as preludes and offertories.
  • In stock


  • Publisher Augsburg Fortress
  • Format Sheet Music
  • ISBN 9781506413587
  • Dimensions 9 x 12
  • Pages 48
  • Season/Occasion Funeral
  • Difficulty Medium
  • Voicing Organ
  • Publication Date June 1, 2016

Composer Commentary

I was recently commissioned to write an organ piece for the memorial services of a beloved theologian in New York City. The result of that effort was Cantus Aethereum, a simple 3-minute work based on an original plainsong-like melody. It occurred to me later that other pieces of similar character, especially those based on familiar hymn tunes known for their power to heal and comfort, would fill a needed spot organ repertory. It is my  hope that these each hymn tune and free setting will imbue the melodic material with sweet assurance and serenity.